Sea

“In the summer
I stretch out on the shore
And think of you
Had I told the sea
What I felt for you,
It would have left its shores,
Its shells,
Its fish,
And followed me.”

Nizar Qabbani, In The Summer

Heard the sea scream out its frustration
Heard its cry when it crashed across the rocks
Over and over again throughout the conversation
Heard it declare its love as I sat on the rocks

Heard the sea roar it’s question
As it pounded against the rock wave after wave
Heard it whimper with resignation
As it’s waves slowly ebbed with the tides
Heard it’s cry on the wind that blew across the waves

I could feel it’s passion surround me
I could feel being drawn in as it’s arms came around me
I took off my clothes and slipped in to get closer to its heart
I picked a shell to hear it sing it’s love songs

Heard the sea sing of it’s secret place
A place no one knows about
Where no one has been or known.
Of depths filled with love and passion
Filled with stories and dashed dreams
Of beauty unknown and scars best covered
A place that never feels the sun rays

I heard it’s murmurings, it’s descriptions of her deep green eyes
Greenest of eyes, stubborn and hard.
I heard him describe it’s smile to the rock
What he loved most about her, her uneven smile
A smile shaped by her eyes and faux dimples

His eyes were blue, a lovely blue whose hue was ever changing based on emotions.
The sea had the bluest of eyes
soft and reflective
One could see it’s thoughts in his eyes
His world was reflective as his emotions turbulent

“In the summer
I stretch out on the shore
And think of you
Had I told the sea
What I felt for you,
It would have left its shores,
Its shells,
Its fish,
And followed me.”

Because it would have known real love and pain.
I felt the change in the sea as I sat on the rocks
It grew colder as the day grew older
It had lost it’s warmth and bubbly nature
I could feel it’s resignation
It’s eyes start to dim with acceptance of defeat in it’s daily mission

It declared it’s love and hope of being united with her daily
He showed it with the pearls and shells he showered her with daily
It was in his voice as he tried to sing the best love song ever
It was in his gentle caresses as he wiped her tears with his waves
It was reflected in his eyes as the whites chased each other playful as they conversed
It was in his nightly dance along her shores
It was in the crests and trough of it’s waves

Had I told the sea
What I felt for you,
It would have left its shores,
Its shells,
Its fish,
And followed me

To see the creature who could be loved more than his love.

Leave a Reply

