Dear God, I Just Cant Sleep, Want To Talk?

The fear of the dark can keep me awake

The fear of the unknown, uncertainty about the new venture i am about to undertake

The fear of tomorrow can make me want to pull the covers over my head

The fear of the future, i am too comfortable with my present, i love the familiar

I lie awake wondering all kinds of things:Will i have the right answers for tomorrow’s test?

Dear God, i cannot sleep, you know the thoughts that are disturbing your son, my doubts, my fears, the trials that i face daily, will i be prepared when you finally test me 1 Corinthians 3:10-15

Do i have to go to school? Will i hit the right notes at my recital?

Can i stay in my little corner? Can i shun the company of friends? Of judgemental people? Will i disgrace myself?
Will i be accepted as an enigma? Will they know that i am unique? That i dont have to meet their standards?

Do i have to go to the doctor? Will i strike out at the next game?

Will i be strong for my family? Will i make it for her? the one i love and those that i will love? Can the parents lean on my me in their old age? Will i be the son that they prayed for when they found out mummy was pregnant?
Will i make it at work? Will i be a renowned engineer? Will i experience your grace every single day? I hope i don’t abuse it.

When i worry about tomorrow, i lose my hopes and dreams for today.

I get scared and feel like i am wasting my life when i think about tomorrow. I see my future slipping away, what i can be. I know what i have to do to make my dreams a reality but i concentrate on the difficulty and not how to achieve it, not how build it brick by brick. It starts with learning, saving and above all trusting and committing it into your hands

I must close my eyes to the darkness that fear brings me.

I must close my eyes to the darkness that fear brings me, My future is bright, it is not what i see through the eyes of fear.

I must open my ears to God’s comforting word.

Dear God, you are the last person i can lie to, i hardly read your word. I dont make time for you in my life. But everything i ever needed, need and will ever need is is there. It has provided me with hope in the past, seen me through many battles. Please help me come back to you.

God speaks gentle words to calm my fears.

Please calm my fears, please help me remember that i have an anchor that never fails

God helps me to believe in a bright tomorrow

God help me to believe in a bright tomorrow, help me sleep tonight and wake up to a bright tomorrow. A tomorrow filled with the realization that i am not alone and that i have you by my side. A tomorrow that holds as much promise as my faith in you. Thanks for listening to me

The original words (Boldened) are by Annie Fitzgerald from the Dear God Kids Series

4 thoughts on “Dear God, I Just Cant Sleep, Want To Talk?

  1. Pingback: courage, faith, fear, hope, and beliefs « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

  2. “Can i stay in my little corner? Can i shun the company of friends? Of judgemental people? Will i disgrace myself?
    Will i be accepted as an enigma? Will they know that i am unique? That i dont have to meet their standards?”. *sigh*
    I love it! Absolutely.

Leave a Reply

