Pulse

 

I wake up with a start, the time on my Blackberry reads 6:30 am, I groan as the knowledge that I’m fucked sinks in. I will have to endure that hellish second service this morning. It’s the day after spending quality time at the mall with Miss Sefa and Miss Misa watching “In Time” at the mall -_- thats my weak attempt at writing a story

Each heartbeat is a countdown, your personal reminder that you will soon be dust. Can you hear that tick-tock? Your internal clock.

In a future where people stop aging at 25, but are engineered to live only one more year, having the means to buy your way out of the situation is a shot at immortal youth Sounds movie like? Yeah that’s what basically the movie In Time is all about, people having to work in order to live forever. But life is eerily familiar to the plot of the movie, we live till the day we die then  we Live forever (ie if you are believe in eternity)

Our currency is not time, we have a one time payment system, the death of Jesus Christ. He payed once and for all the penalty of sin. We don’t have to work to live forever because no matter what, eternity is guaranteed but as there were timezones in the movie, there are two places to spend Eternity; Heaven and Hell.

I just want to know how many of us yearn to live? As in to be alive? to be a force, the spark that people always look out for? Making every single beat count..Does each pulse signify a moment well spent? I don’t know whether i am making sense but the movie made me think..i asked myself how i will live if i knew i had to work and actually earn every single second of my life and how i will spend them, who will i consider dear enough to spend my time on, will it be family? friends? will working come before those i toil for? My priorities? will they be well defined?

But i don’t pay for anything using time or? I think we do…our lifestyles; drinking, junk food, tobacco , not exercising etc these things demand time as payment for the “enjoyment”

Let us Live,  lets spend quality times with those who matter and take the right decisions concerning life

2 thoughts on “Pulse

Leave a Reply

