Did I stutter?

Did I stutter? Does it reflect in my written words? How many times must i make it clear to you that we are all equal yet not the same? How many times must i make you aware that i dont judge people based on first impressions or appearance? Did i stutter in my post about knowing me? did you see this –> “people only know what the other person chooses to let them know about themselves.”  Well let me share a quote i once read on twitter that i identify with.

“Anyone who knows me should learn to know me again for I am like the moon and you will see me with a new face everyday” ~ Rumi

People change all the time, no one is the same as he/she was the day before today, you have grown a day older, you might have acquired new scars, learned something new, fallen in love, had your dreams shattered (just as mine were shattered yesterday) , become wiser or miraculously more stupid and ignorant-a new day brings forth a new you without your permission or participation.

Did i stutter when i told you that i liked her? I don’t know her, I might never know her but i will never judge her based on what she did in the past or the fact that her words on twitter are too  “raw” for you or should not be there in the first place. I admire the fact that she is opinionated and not intimidated by the fucked up standards set up by society that allows certain actions from men and frowns upon women committing the same acts. Its this same actions that are repulsive to you that attract me to her. How come? How come we both see her differently? How can you determine whether someone might be a good mother or wife from her tweets or past? How the fuck do you do that?

Looking back at my life, i sometimes wonder what would have happened if i had taken certain decisions and not others. The choice between Mfantsipim and Presec, a night in town and my physics..I’m sure that all the choices have led me here today and i know that i still have countless choices to make before i die. Choices that can either make my life worth living or not. No one should be judged based on a wrong choice ( according to our own standard) because you don’t know the end point of that choice..life is a journey, decisions are just junction or forks that we come across, only God knows what is at the end of that path.

You have no idea how i want to go back into my past and retake some decisions and fix some mistakes, i might not be the only person who has done some things that I have done and will inevitably regret for the rest of my life, but life is not about living in the past, rather it is integral that we reflect on it,and draw from its well of knowledge as we go along. I would be a complete liar if I even attempted to say I have lived a life that I am totally proud of but in saying that, I know that self-improvement doesn’t start with changing the past, but acknowledging its imperfection and making sure that the lessons learned are not forgotten but applied.

At the end of the day, who the fuck is perfect anyway. Have you ever thought about how infuriatingly bland life would be if we all had no flaws, no pasts to be ashamed of ? no juicy bits of stories that make you wish that you had that type of courage to have committed such an act of stupidity, an act yet stupid but makes one popular.

Fuck it..i might never get to know her and know her well but i know she has a good heart and has a past like all of us and unlike you i know she knows she has a past and wants a better future.

Dear unknown follower please continue to be who you are, stay true to yourself..change because you realize that a change is needed and not because people want you to change.

“Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.”~ Oscar Wilde
Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

5 thoughts on “Did I stutter?

  1. “I know that self-improvement doesn’t start with changing the past, but acknowledging its imperfection and making sure that the lessons learned are not forgotten but applied.”
    “…change because you realize that a change is needed and not because people want you to change.” Gotta luv this wisdom meeehhn!!!!
    #realtruetalk!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

